In addition to Pleasure Boat Studio, our other imprints include our mystery books, Caravel, and our non-fiction line, Aequitas. Also on this site you will find Empty Bowl Press, a Division of Pleasure Boat Studio. Click HERE to get a list of our authors.


New review of Louis Phillips’ New and Selected Poems. Click here.

Check out the YouTube video of Rita Miljo, the subject of an upcoming book we’re doing by Michael Blumenthal.

Wonderful reviews of Robert Sund’s Poems from Ish River Country on Robert’s page, here.

Click here to see a teaser for the movie (in the works) of Russell Hill’s Lord God Bird. Looks terrific.

See the NYTBR of 2/15/15 for a great review of James Anderson’s Never-Open Desert Diner! 

A couple strong reviews of 
 our Lawyer Poets book. Check out this one and another on the editor’s page, here.

Read the latest review of Bruce Berger’s END OF THE SHERRY here.

Read the latest review of Hannah Hess’s HONEST DECEPTIONS here.

Log into to see her poem-per-day exercise. 

Go to YouTube and search for “Deceptive Hannah” for a very interesting 8-minute piece on Hannah Hess’s wonderful novel, HONEST DECEPTIONS.

Read an excellent interview with Tim McNulty in the Oregonian by clicking here.

If you can read Italian, check out the article about Lucia Gazzino on her page herein.

Interview with James Elkins, editor of Lawyer Poets and That World We Call Law. Click here.

Take a look at Linda Lappin’s fascinating commentary about her novel, Signatures in Stone. Click here to go to her author’s page. 

New review: Lucia Gazzino’s Alter Mundus, translated by Michael Daley. See it here.

Bruce Berger’s The End of the Sherry was an Indy Groundbreaking Book for February. Check out the review here.

Here’s a really fine essay by James Elkins, editor of LAWYER POETS, examining the question of WHY WRITE? Click Why_I_Write_Elkins.pdf

Our first YouTube video trailer is now released for the upcoming mystery Signatures in Stone, by Linda Lappin. It’s terrific. Take a look at 

Check out the new video of a reading by Ish River Poets. The video was done by pubiisher Jim Bodeen (Blue Begonia Press):

Now you can LISTEN to Frances Driscoll’s marvelous and powerful THE RAPE POEMS. Available on iTunes or by clicking here.

Check out this video of Mike O’Connor discussing his work. It’s part of a larger work by Sharon Robinson. Go to Mike’s site for more information.

 Listen to a great radio interview with Russell Conner (Toys from my Attic) on David Alpern’s FOR YOUR EARS ONLY program. (Note: Russell’s part starts at 35:04.)

Check out the video of Louis Phillips. The video is beautifully done by Louis’s son Ian.

 Here’s Jack’s video on writing: “Comma Comma Comma Quote.”

Read publisher Jack Estes’ opinion piece in PUBLISHERS WEEKLY:      “Books are not dead.”


Poetry by

John Delaney

Now available!!



$14.95, with a 20% discount until

Aug. 31 with the code word DELANEY.

Far ranging in its geography, Waypoints is a collection of poems that mark the itinerary of a poet wanderer—in matter and mind—over many years. As he acknowledges in his statement about the book, Delaney often writes about places he has been because, like a GPS system, they reflect the ups and downs, turns and twists (tone and tenor), of the mental and emotional life-journey he has been taking. Believing there is no better teacher and no better resource for the imagination than nature, Delaney is most grounded when he is in some remote place, enjoying the challenge it presents and the adventure it becomes.


Isaac, fiction by Robert Karmon

Available NOW •

Paperback: ISBN 978-1-545463-02-4  -  $17.95

Hardback: ISBN 978-0-912887-53-1 -  $26.95

ebook $4.99

Just include the code word KARMON1 (for paperback) and KARMON (for casebound) and get a 20% discount

A new book  from Empty Bowl Press, the first released under the new publisher, Michael Daley. This collection of poems, by Port Townsend poet, Finn Wilcox, is titled Too Late to Turn  Back Now. This work includes Wilcox’s out-
-print edition, Here Among the Sacrificed, as well as his Lessons Learned. In addition, Wilcox includes new work, all expressed in his inimitable voice, the voice of a laborer and wanderer, a man who has traveled through China and has ridden rails through the US.

*Pleasure Boat Studio is proud to announce its latest edition to its poetry series:

The Island's Only Escape, by the belated Matthew Phillips.

When a writer dies too young, readers are always left with the question, “What kind of writer would he have become if he had been granted a full career?” Matthew Phillips wrote these astonishingly good poems in his mid-twenties when he was studying Mideast
history and politics, when he was questioning the many tensions of that region. His poems, however, are intellectually far-ranging, from academic settings to the Caves of Lascaux, from San Francisco to Sparta, but rooted in his personal and educational experiences in America. In many of his poems, he creates a narrator who describes what he sees around him and then, with a more detached eye, explores ideas and the meaning of personal experience. Sometimes the experience is literal, as in his “Letter From San Francisco,” and at other times more figurative, as in “The Caves of Lascaux.”

You can order this 42-page book of poetry by clicking the above button, or through for $8.